In 1976, the school created a private, non-profit support organization—the Alabama School of Fine Arts Foundation—to enlist private sector assistance to address school needs. The school’s Board of Trustees appoints members to the Foundation’s Board of Directors, which approves foundation policy.  A Director of Development directs foundation operations and reports to the ASFA president.

Alabama School of Fine Arts Foundation Board of Directors

  • Board of Directors



    Dr. Tommy Bice


    Past President

    Robert Raiford


    Finance Chair

    Warren Whatley



    Valerie Thompson


    Development Committee Chair

    Pat Taylor


    Shahar Abrams ‘10

    Sharon Blackburn

    Jeff Davis

    Brian Edwards

    David Finn

    Dan Frederick

    Gracie Goodrich

    Margaret Lacey

    Gianna Mandich

    Jonathan Phillips

    Mark Robertson

    Kim Savage

    Jean Shanks

    Hunter Williams

    Dr. Tim Mitchell, ASFA President

    Dr. Ba-Shen Welch, Board of Trustees Chair